Masala Library

Masala Library has really set the standards high when it comes to food.

Its near Le Meridian Hotel at Janpath Lane. They offer valet parking, and plenty of parking space is available there to park your car. As I entered the place I was warmly greeted, the ambiance was stunning, the vast wine cellars were surely eye catchy. The chandelier was shinning gold and looked really beautiful. Overall this place is not very big but has a seating capacity of about 50 people. This place being a fine dine, the interiors suited this place and since I was here for lunch the sun kissed perfectly.

I was given the Menu to order and I opted for the Chef’s tasting menu. The chef tasting menu included a 19 course meal which had starters, maincourse, palate cleansers and deserts.

img_8280

Starting from

Amuse Bouche- They look like broken eggs on a nest but as they say looks can be deceptive. It was mango flavored and you have to have it in one go. A good refreshing dish to kick start my food trail.

Madhur vada & Clear Rasam- Its a very popular dish down in South, the presentation was really good. It had a small vada and rasam. You could actually taste all the flavors of South in one small dish.

Deconstruction of samosa- No where on Earth does it looks like a samosa, the inner fillings of chic peas and potato is presented on the flour board and when you have it you can actually feel the taste of the Samosa.

Charcol Bhajiya- It was more of Onion Pakaro, which didn’t appeal me much.

Farmers Staple- Farmers staple was a small paratha stuffed with caramelized onions and with white butter on the side. I loved the combination and I so wanted to have more.

Mushroom Chai- I’m not a fan of tea at all, but as the server told us it wasn’t tea but mushroom soup. I liked the flavor of mushrooms in it.

Silken Galouti kebab- Who doesn’t love Galouti kabab after all, they gave us it a form of spaghetti on a sheermal which makes an ideal mughali lovers meal. The flavor will leave you asking for more.

Chicken Tikka- So this was really amazing, a buttery chicken tikka served with chicken tikka paste and chicken tikka flavored papad. I loved it.

Prawns- Prawns prepared with curry leaves using coastal spices. I loved the spicy flavor of it.

Sorbet- Remember the Chuski we used to have after school? It tastes just the same a sweet tangy flavor of Kala khatta works as a great palate cleanser.

Indian curries with breads- Okay so I can call this a dish of the nation and a very nationalist dish since it had 3 different curries namely Butter Chicken curry, White qorma and green saag with Tibetan bread and lacha paratha.

Coming to the desserts, my favorite here has to be the Jalebi Caviar as I’ve never seen something like this in my entire life nor did I even imagine it. Jalebi in caviar form floating on Rabri. I loved the presentation and the flavor was awesome. They have two more desserts and both of them are equally good.

img_8428

Even though the staff was very informative and polite, I feel this place is a bit under staffed causing us to wait between our meals as it is always full.

You have to make reservations 2 days prior to your meal. The non veg meal I had was of 2300Rs which according to me was worth it.

 
Masala Library Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Categories: CP

Leave a comment